Committee on Academic Freedom (CAF)

Reviews policies and issues affecting the academic freedom of UCSF faculty. CAF is currently reviewing the issue of academic freedom in the context of institutional affiliations, as well as the use of materials generated by UCSF faculty.

UCSF Faculty in the Adjunct, Clinical X, Health Sciences Clinical, In-Residence, and Ladder Rank series are eligible to be appointed.

5-6 members, meets for 90 minutes every other month.

Academic Senate Staff: Kirstin Mcrae  


Melike Pekmezci, MD, Chair, Assistant Professor, Pathology, (M)    09/01/2021 - 08/31/2022
Donald Taylor, MD, PhD, Vice Chair, Hs Asst Clin Prof-hcomp, Anesthesia, (M) 09/01/2021 - 08/31/2022
Steven Altschuler, PhD, Professor, Pharmaceutical Chemistry, (P) 09/01/2020 - 08/31/2023
Jay Gupta, DDS, MD, Hs Associate Clin Professor, Omfs, (D) 09/01/2021 - 08/31/2022
Andrea Hasenstaub, PhD, Associate Professor, Oto-General Ohns, (M) 09/01/2021 - 08/31/2024
Terumi Kohwi-Shigematsu, PhD, Professor In Residence, Ofs, (D) 09/01/2019 - 08/31/2022
Monica Mclemore, RN, PhD, FAAN, Associate Professor, Fhcn-Administration, (N) 09/01/2020 - 08/31/2023

Documents of Interest



Annual Report | Bylaws | Committee Description | Archives