

Committee on Committees

Steven Cheung, MD, Chair

ANNUAL REPORT 2017-2018

Statistical Information:

17-18

Total Appointments & Nominations	
UCOC Systemwide Nominations to Special Committees & Task Forces	
ASCOLI	1
Carcinogen Identification Committee (CIC)	1
CCST Board	3
Developmental and Reproductive Toxicant Identification Committee	1
Editorial Committee	1
Oliver Johnson Award	1
Regents Committee Health Svcs	1
Systemwide Library and Scholarly Information Advisory Committee	4
(SLASIAC) Standing Subcommittee on Copyright Policies	
UC Firearm Violence Research Center-Advisory Board	3
UCR Chancellor review	2
UCRS Advisory Board	1
Faculty Salary Equity Studies	5
Space Task Forces	2
Academic Space for Clinicians Policy Task Force	5
Education Space Policy Task Force	5
Back Up CAP	6

2017-2018 Members

Steven Cheung, Chair (SOM)
Pamela Ling, Vice Chair (SOM)
Marek Brzezinski (SOM)
Shingo Kajimura (SOD)
Donald Kishi (SOP)

Stanton Glantz (SOM)
Jacqueline Leung (SOM)
Janine Cataldo (SON)
Janice Tsoh (SOM)

Number of Meetings: 16

Senate Analysts: Todd Giedt & Amber Cobbett

Systemwide Business & Nominations

Regarding system-wide concerns, the Committee (CoC) reviewed and responded to the following system-wide business and made a number of appointments to systemwide task forces and standing committees.

- 1. Nominations to systemwide task forces:
 - a. Academic Special Committee on Lab Issues (ACSCOLI)
 - b. Carcinogen Identification Committee
 - c. California Council on Science & Technology (CCST) Board of Directors
 - d. Editorial Committee (twice)
 - e. Faculty Salary Equity Studies Seminar
 - f. Oliver Johnson Award
 - g. Regents Committee on Health Services Representative
 - h. Systemwide Library and Scholarly Information Advisory Committee (SLASIAC) Standing Subcommittee on Copyright Policies
 - i. UC Firearm Violence Research Center Advisory Board
 - i. UC Riverside Chancellorial Review
 - k. UC Retirement System Advisory Board
- 2. Nominations to Space Task Forces/Workgroups:
 - a. Academic Senate Academic Space for Clinicians Policy Task Force
 - b. Academic Senate Educator and Education Space Policy Task Force
 - c. Bowes Biomedical Investigator Advisory Committee
 - d. Parnassus Heights Neighborhood Working Group
 - e. Parnassus Heights Replacement Hospital Visioning Committee
 - f. Parnassus Heights Steering Committee & Steering Committee Working Groups
 - g. UCSF Medal Selection Committee
 - h. UCSF Research & Administrative Space Policy Working Group
 - i. Inter-institutional Faculty Appointments Working Group

Divisional Business

Call to Service: UCSF Academic Senate Call to Service was in December 2017 but open all year.
 Executive Director Todd Giedt reminded faculty bi weekly, by email. There is a CoC Liaison Process.
 Liaisons Recruitment of New Members and/or Extension of Terms and/or Assigning Leadership
 Positions are assigned by each committee. Please see list of liaisons below.

Divisional Committees	Systemwide Committees	Member
Academic Freedom (CAF)	University Committee on Academic Freedom (UCAF)	Stanton Glantz
Academic Personnel (CAP)	University Committee on Academic Personnel (UCAP)	Jackie Leung
Academic Planning and Budget (APB)	University Committee on Academic Planning & Budget (UCPB)	Steven Cheung
NONE	Board of Admissions & Relations with Schools (BOARS)	Todd Giedt
Clinical Affairs Committee (CAC)	NONE	Pamela Ling

Courses of Instruction (COCOI)	NONE	Donald Kishi
(00001)		
Educational Policy (CEP)	University Committee on Educational Policy (UCEP)	Donald Kishi
Equal Opportunity (EQOP)	University Committee on Affirmative Action & Diversity (UCAAD)	Janice Tsoh
Faculty Welfare (CFW)	University Committee on Faculty Welfare (UCFW)	Janice Tsoh
Graduate Council (GRAD)	Coordinating Committee on Graduate Affairs (CCGA)	Shingo Kajimura
Library & Scholarly Communication (COLASC)	University Committee on Library & Scholarly Communication (UCOLASC)	Stanton Glantz
Privilege & Tenure (P&T)	University Committee on Privilege & Tenure (UCPT)	Marek Brzezinski
Research (COR)	University Committee on Research Policy (UCORP)	Pamela Ling
Rules & Jurisdiction (R&J)	University Committee on Rules & Jurisdiction (UCR&J)	Janine Cataldo
Committee on Space (SPC)	None	Steven Cheung
Sustainability Ad-Hoc Committee (SUST-A)	None	Jackie Leung
NONE	University Committee on Academic Computing and Communications (UCACC)	Todd Giedt
NONE	Editorial (EDIT)	Todd Giedt
NONE	University Committee on International Education (UCIE)	Todd Giedt
NONE	University Committee on Preparatory Education (UCOPE)	Todd Giedt

Divisional Nominations & Appointments

- 1. CoC Elections: CoC sent out a call for nominations for two CoC positions (SOM representation and SOD representative, and ran an election for these two members. Hannah Glass (SOM) and Pamela den Besten (SOD) were appointed.
- 2. APB 2018-19 Leadership: CoC took steps to reinvigorate APB this past year, and appointed Divisional Vice Chair Sharmila Majumdar to chair APB in 2018-19.

- 3. Service Recognition Program: Chair Steven Cheung proposed implementing a recognition program to encourage an increase in UCSF Academic Senate membership and participation. While the Vice Provost for Academic Affairs did accept the program as originally conceived, CoC proposed new language to potentially allow for additional types/roles of Senate service to be considered for advancement accelerations.
- 4. Updates to COC Vote in Senate Service Portal (SSP): UCSF Senate Programmer, George Michael collaborated with CoC members and the Academic Senate office to create a new CoC voting module.

Going Forward

Ongoing issues under review or actions that the Committee will continue into 2018-19:

- Call for Service: CoC will again launch its Call-to-Service with renewed emphasis on the recruitment of UCSF faculty members who have not yet served in the Senate.
- Senate Service Portal CoC Voting Module: The voting module will be implemented in 2018-19.
- Chancellorial Review of Chancellor Hawgood: CoC will work with the systemwide UCOC, systemwide Senate Chair, and the Divisional Chair to make nominations for the Chancellor Hawgood's Chancellorial Review Committee, which will take place in 2018-19.

Appendices

Appendix 1: 2018-2019 Appointments to the Standing Committees of the Academic Senate

Senate Staff: Todd Giedt, Executive Director, todd.giedt@ucsf.edu; 415/476-1307

Amber Cobbett, Faculty Engagement Analyst, amber.cobbett@ucsf.edu; 415-476-1308